The inaugural season of the FIA-sanctioned Formula E Championship got off to a good start last September, and now, after three rounds, organizers for the electric car racing series have confirmed the first details for season two. Like its inaugural season, Formula E’s second season will be split over two years, in this case 2015 and 2016, and we should see 10 races in total.

Teams still won’t be able to build their own cars but they will be able to develop their own powertrains. Currently, all teams use a common chassis whose powertrain is sourced from McLaren. By season three, organizers will allow teams to supply their own batteries too.

Organizers are hopeful that the extra flexibility will attract some of the major automakers to the sport. Already some major names are involved such as Renault, Mahindra and the aforementioned McLaren. The eventual goal is to get teams building their own cars, but the regulations are still rather strict and don’t allow much room for changes in aerodynamics.

More big names joining could pave the way for Formula E to make a bid for world championship status, with the series requiring the involvement of four manufacturers to become a world championship under FIA rules.

After three rounds, Lucas di Grassi of Audi Sport ABT is leading the inaugural season with a total of 58 points. Tied for second and third spots with 40 points apiece are e.dams Renault driver Sébastien Buemi and Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird. In the teams’ standings, e.dams-Renault leads with 64 points versus the 62 points of Audi Sport ABT and 54 points of Virgin Racing.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.