A special exhibition of Le Mans vehicles will take pride of place at this year's Geneva Motor Show, as the Swiss show pays tribute to the famous endurance race held in France. A total of 20 famous Le Mans race vehicles will be on display at the show, the majority of them overall winners.

MUST SEE: Chris Harris Drives The McLaren P1 On /DRIVE

Notable exhibits will include the famous Birkin Bentley Speed Six from 1929, Amon and McLaren's 1966 Ford GT40 MkII, the Porsche 917K, the Sauber Mercedes C9, Mazda's rotary 787B, and last year's victor, the Audi R18 e-tron quattro. Each vehicle is on loan from the Musée Automobile de la Sarthe, the popular Le Mans museum located at the circuit itself and a must-visit for anyone visiting the 24 hour race.

The Geneva exhibit will celebrate the event's long history, which has seen 81 races since first organized by the ACO or Automobile Club de l’Ouest in 1923. It's generally considered one of the world's premier races alongside the Monaco Grand Prix, the Monte-Carlo rally, and the Indianapolis 500, among others.

The last few years have been dominated by Audi and that's unlikely to change any time soon, though strong competition from Toyota and a new hybrid entry from Porsche with Mark Webber at the wheel are sure to be highlights of this year's event, which is scheduled for June.

ALSO SEE: 2015 Audi TT Teased Ahead Of Geneva Motor Show

Those visiting the Geneva Motor Show can view the Le Mans exhibit and its 20 vehicles from March 6-16, 2014. Vehicles displayed at Geneva are as follows:

1923: Chenard & Walcker Sport (Lagache-Léonard, 1st)
1929: Bentley Speed Six (Barnato-Birkin, 1st)
1933: Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 (Nuvolari-Sommer, 1st)
1937: Bugatti Typ 57 (Wimille-Benoist, 1st)
1949: Ferrari 166 MM (Chinetti-Mitchell Thompson, 1st)
1954: Jaguar Type D (Hamilton-Rolt, 2nd)
1958: Ferrari Testa Rossa (Gendebien-Hill, 1st)
1966: Ford GT40 MkII (Amon-McLaren, 1st)
1970: Porsche 917K (Attwood-Herrmann, 1st)
1974: Matra 670B (Larrousse-Pescarolo, 1st)
1978: Alpine Renault A442B Turbo (Jaussaud-Pironi, 1st)
1980: Rondeau M379B Ford (Jaussaud-Rondeau, 1st)
1989: Sauber Mercedes C9 (Dickens-Mass-Reuter, 1st)
1991: Mazda 787B (Gachot-Herbert-Weidler, 1st)
1991: Jaguar XJR9 (Boesel-Ferté-Jones, 2nd)
1992: Peugeot 905 (Blundell-Dalmas-Warwick, 1st)
1998: Porsche GT1 (Aïello-McNish-Ortelli, 1st)
2000: Audi R8 (Biella-Kristensen-Pirro, 1st)
2009: Peugeot 908 (Brabham-Gené-Wurz, 1st)
2013: Audi R18 E-Tron Quattro (Duval-Kristensen-McNish, 1st, Faessler-Lotterer-Tréluyer, 1st in 2012)


Follow Motor Authority on FacebookTwitter, and Google+