At the most recent meeting of its World Motor Sport Council on Friday, the FIA, Formula 1's governing body, confirmed the calendar for the sport's 2019 season.

There will be a record 21 grands prix, which will be only the third time in F1 history that such a high number has been held, the previous being in 2016 and the current 2018 season.

Sadly, organizers of the proposed Miami Grand Prix weren't able to submit a sufficient bid in time for the 2019 season cutoff. And Miami could also miss out hosting a race in the 2020 season as there are rumors Vietnam already has an agreement in place for a new race.

Below is the calendar for the 2019 Formula 1 World Championship:

March 17 - Australian Grand Prix
March 31 - Bahrain Grand Prix
April 14 - Chinese Grand Prix
April 28 - Azerbaijan Grand Prix
May 12 - Spanish Grand Prix
May 26 - Monaco Grand Prix
June 9 - Canadian Grand Prix
June 23 - French Grand Prix
June 30 - Austrian Grand Prix
July 14 - British Grand Prix
July 28 - German Grand Prix
August 4 - Hungarian Grand Prix
September 1 - Belgian Grand Prix
September 8 - Italian Grand Prix
September 22 - Singapore Grand Prix
September 29 - Russian Grand Prix
October 13 - Japanese Grand Prix
October 27 - Mexican Grand Prix
November 3 - United States Grand Prix
November 17 - Brazilian Grand Prix
December 1 - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Note, some dates are still subject to change.

In other motorsport news, Mick Schumacher, son of seven-time F1 champion Michael Schumacher, secured the title for the 2018 Formula 3 European Championship at the final race held over the weekend at Germany's Hockenheimring. The title puts him in among a select band of racers, many that have gone on to F1 careers. The list includes current drivers Lewis Hamilton, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hülkenberg, Esteban Ocon and Lance Stroll.