Five teams will contest this year’s Nürburgring 24 Hours using the R8 LMS ultra race car, including the factory-backed teams Phoenix Racing and Audi Race Experience. The latter allows virtually anyone to buy a seat on the team, and this year Austrian Daredevil Felix Baumgartner will be among its lineup of drivers. Other teams using the R8 LMS ultra include Prosperia C. Abt Racing, G-Drive Racing and Twin Busch Motorsport.

CHECK OUT: Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 To Star In Jurassic Park 4?

The latest version of the R8 LMS ultra features an output of 562 horsepower, a six-speed sequential gearbox and a rear-wheel-drive layout. The minimum weight of the car, according to regulations, is 1,250 kilograms (2,755 pounds). In total, there will be eight of the R8s among the 190-car lineup contesting this year’s race.

As in past years, a number of high-caliber driver will be behind the wheels of the Audi race cars. There will be four former Le Mans winners (Frank Biela, Marcel Fässler, Stéphane Ortelli and Marco Werner), two GT1 world champions (Marc Basseng and Markus Winkelhock), and an FIA GT champion (Laurens Vanthoor).

MUST SEE: Your Grandma Isn't This Cool: Video

The 2014 Nürburgring 24 Hours runs from June 21-22. Last year the overall victor was a Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 fielded by German team Black Falcon.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.