Fox Sports has signed a multi-year deal with organizers of the Formula E Championship for broadcast rights of the new electric car racing series. The deal includes broadcast exclusivity across the Fox family of networks in the U.S., including the new Fox Sports 1 channel which launches on August 17. Fox Sports also has exclusive and non-exclusive rights in more than 80 countries and territories including Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and South Korea. It also has a five-year deal with the new United SportsCar Racing series.

The management at Fox Sports sees Formula E as being very relevant for the future, particularly in its ability to acquire knowledge and fast-track technology through the world of international motorsport.

“The Formula E Championship is much more than just another weekend at the track,” Carlos Martinez, a Fox exec who helped broker the deal, said in a statement. “It makes racing an integral part of solving one of the world's most daunting challenges and we are thrilled to be a part of that process."

The first Formula E race will be held in September 2014, but we’ll get our first look at the electric race cars during next month’s 2013 Frankfurt Auto Show.

Ten races will be held in the inaugural season, with Los Angeles and Miami among the destinations, and ten teams are expected, though so far only six have been confirmed. One of them is American IndyCar champions Andretti Autosport.

And in related news, IndyCar legend Gil de Ferran has become an official ambassador for the Formula E Championship.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.