Renowned IndyCar team Andretti Autosport, led by Michael Andretti, son of the legendary Mario Andretti, has announced its intention to compete in the inaugural season of the Formula E Championship commencing in 2014.

Only three days ago we reported that the locations for the 10 planned races in Formula E’s inaugural season had been picked, and that the championship’s 2.5 million euro (approximately $3.3 million) budget cap had helped it lure a major IndyCar team.

That team has since been revealed as Andretti Autosport, a winner of multiple IndyCar championships and with ties to top drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and James Hinchcliffe.

Andretti Autosport is only the third of a possible 10 teams that has announced its intention to compete in the FIA-sanctioned electric car event. The other two are China Racing and Drayson Racing of the U.K., making Andretti Autosport the only American team to sign up thus far.

Andretti Autosport is likely to have two drivers in Formula E’s inaugural season, though so far it has only confirmed to have one driver. The second could be one of the team’s star drivers, such as reigning IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Each of the drivers competing in Formula E, 20 in total, will have two cars each (the driving range of each of the cars will only cover half of the hour long races so two are required). Each of the races will take place in a single day, including qualifying and the actual race.

The inaugural season of Formula E will commence in September, 2014 and run until June the following year. Teams will use a common chassis supplied by Spark Racing Technology and powered by McLaren electric motors.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.