Just as many rivals expand with new dedicated racing series for the growing list of wealthy clientele with a taste for racing, Maserati is concluding its own Trofeo MC World Series that centered on the GranTurismo. The journey lasted six years and ended only this month at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi with Frenchman Romain Monti taking the last ever title.

ALSO SEE: Fire Breathing Nissan GT-R Plays In The Snow: Video

The one-make series kicked off with an Italian taking the championship, Pietro Zumerle in 2010. He was followed by another Italian, David Baldi (2011), before a Belgian claimed two successive crowns, Renaud Kuppens (2012 and 2013). In 2014 it was the turn of Swiss driver Mauro Calamia.

The Trofeo MC World Series even managed an American round, which saw races at Sonoma, Road America and VIR. The video above from AutoEmotionenTV provides an outline of the series as well as some highlights from all the years of racing.

CHECK OUT: This Might Just Be The Quickest Lamborghini Aventador In The World: Video

The car used was known as the GranTurismo MC, and it was closely based on the road-going GranTurismo albeit much lighter thanks to a stripped-out design. The engine was the stock 4.7-liter V-8, which was good for 444 horsepower and 376 pound-feet of torque, and this was paired up with a sequential transmission.

Note, Maserati isn’t completely killing off its motorsport program. The company has designed an FIA GT4-spec GranTurismo which private teams will be able to field next year in various GT4 competitions around the globe. Maserati will only be providing teams with technical support and replacement parts, transferring all the experience and know-how picked up in the past six seasons of the Maserati Trofeo MC World Series.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook and Twitter.