Mercedes AMG’s Lewis Hamilton has been named the 2014 Formula One World Champion, after the Briton won yesterday’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in spectacular style. He’s now the first Mercedes driver to claim the title since Juan Manuel Fangio all the way back in 1955. His teammate Nico Rosberg finished second in the championship but in yesterday’s race could only muster up 14th place due to car trouble. The Mercedes AMG team was given the title in the Constructors’ Championship back at the Russian Grand Prix.

DON'T MISS: Watch A Big Rig Jump A Moving Formula One Car: Video

Between them, Hamilton and Rosberg accumulated 16 wins, 18 pole positions, 12 fastest laps and 31 podium finishes. With eleven one-two wins in a single season, the team surpassed the previous record set by McLaren in 1988. In addition, the 16th victory of the season in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix means Mercedes AMG no longer shares the record with any other team for the highest number of wins in a single season. The previous record was also set by McLaren in 1988.

This is Hamilton’s second championship, as he first won the title back in 2008 driving for McLaren. Had it have been his car to suffer trouble, we could have seen Rosberg declared champion due to the controversial double points system. However, with 11 wins under his belt this season the championship couldn’t have gone to a more deserving driver in Hamilton.

During the race, Hamilton and Rosberg were rarely separated by more than two seconds but then on lap 24 the German started to suffer trouble with his car’s electrical units and slowly began to lose pace. Eventually he was overtaken by many drivers including Hamilton who lapped him in the closing stages.

MUST SEE: Jay Leno Gives Wounded Veteran A 2015 Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat: Video

With Rosberg out of the picture, Hamilton was now facing Williams’ Felipe Massa who was still eager for a win. The Brazilian eventually crossed the line second, just 2.5 seconds behind the winner. Third place went to Williams’ other driver Valtteri Bottas, almost 30 seconds back. Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo crossed the line fourth and in the process secured third place in the Drivers' Championship. He was followed by McLaren’s Jenson Button in fifth.

In the post-race interview, Hamilton thanked the whole Mercedes AMG team for their efforts this season and described the race as the “greatest” in his life. He and the team will soon head to Germany for Mercedes’ end of year celebration near its headquarters in Stuttgart. Called Stars & Cars, the event will run on November 29 and admission is free for the general public.

Below are top ten results of the 2014 Formula One Drivers’ Championship:

1) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes AMG (384 points)
2) Nico Rosberg, Mercedes AMG (317)
3) Daniel Ricciardo, Infiniti Red Bull Racing (238)
4) Valtteri Bottas, Williams (186)
5) Sebastian Vettel, Infiniti Red Bull Racing (167)
6) Fernando Alonso, Ferrari (161)
7) Felipe Massa, Williams (134)
8) Jenson Button, McLaren (126)
9) Nico Hulkenberg, Force India (96)
10) Sergio Perez, Force India (59)

Below are top ten results of the 2014 Formula One Constructors’ Championship:

1) Mercedes AMG (701 points)
2) Infiniti Red Bull Racing (405)
3) Williams (320)
4) Ferrari (216)
5) McLaren (181)
6) Force India (155)
7) Toro Rosso (30)
8) Lotus (10)
9) Marussia (2)
10) Sauber, Caterham (tied with 0)


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.