The eighth team confirmed for the inaugural season of the Formula E Championship is Mahindra Racing, the motorsport outfit of Indian automaker Mahindra. That means just two more teams can sign up for the electric car racing series before the start of the season in September 2014.

Mahindra already offers a line of electric cars through its Mahindra Reva Company, so joining Formula E is a natural step for a company keen to promote its zero-emission range. Mahindra is also no stranger to international motorsport, as Mahindra Racing is already established within the two-wheeled world of the MotoGP.

Other teams confirmed for Formula E include IndyCar outfits Andretti Autosport and Dragon Racing, Asia’s China Racing and Super Aguri, and European squads Drayson Racing, e.dams and Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team.

All teams will use a common chassis known as the Spark-Renault SRT_01E. Peak output of the cars will be roughly 200 kilowatts (270 horsepower).

And the ten teams will compete in ten races in the inaugural season, with Los Angeles and Miami among the destinations. Each of the races will take place in a single day, including qualifying and the actual race, and each driver will have two cars each (the driving range of each of the cars will only cover half of the hour long races so two are required).


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.