Saturday’s opening race of the 2016/2017 Formula E Championship held in Hong Kong wasn’t the miracle start we’re sure Jaguar would have hoped for.

The automaker, which is partnered with Panasonic, ended up with just one driver, Adam Carroll, finishing 12th out of the 15 finishers. The team’s other driver Mitch Evans had to retire due to car trouble. Carroll and Evans had qualified 14th and 16th, respectively, though Carroll suffered a three-place grid penalty for an earlier infringement and had to drop to 17th on the grid.

ALSO SEE: How powertrain competition could help push Formula E forward

The race was won by reigning champion Sébastien Buemi of Renault e.dams. ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport’s Lucas di Grassi claimed second while Mahindra’s Nick Heidfeld took third.

2016/2017 Formula E Hong Kong ePrix

2016/2017 Formula E Hong Kong ePrix

The lackluster start for Jaguar isn’t a complete surprise. The automaker is only now returning to international motorsport since the demise of its unsuccessful Formula One team in 2004. Electric cars are also a new field for Jaguar, although the automaker is working hard to change that.

The team remains upbeat, though. “Our energy conservation in the race was second to none and we have been encouraged by our consistent race pace which saw us move forward through the field,” Team Director James Barclay said in statement.

The next race is the Marrakesh ePrix in Morocco on November 12, 2016.