Mercedes AMG's Nico Rosberg Wins Season-Ending Formula One Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Follow Viknesh

Mercedes AMG's Nico Rosberg at the 2015 Formula One Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Mercedes AMG's Nico Rosberg at the 2015 Formula One Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

The 2015 Formula One World Championship came to a close yesterday, with the prize for the final event on the calendar, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, going to Mercedes AMG’s Nico Rosberg. This was the German’s third-straight victory—a career first—to make it six wins this season and 14 in his entire F1 career.

Second place went to his Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton, who was already named the world champion several weeks ago. He pushed hard, even setting the fastest lap of the race, though in the end crossed the line around 8.0 seconds behind the leader.

ALSO SEE: Mercedes-AMG Celebrates Mercedes F1 Title With Special A45

Thanks to its drivers, the Mercedes team has sealed a record-breaking 12 one-two finishes this season, surpassing the team’s own 2014 benchmark.

Third place went to Ferrari’s [NYSE:RACE] Kimi Räikkönen, almost 20 seconds behind the leader. His teammate Sebastian Vettel finished fourth after dropping as far back as 15th at one point.

Fifth place went to Force India’s Sergio Perez, who had to fend off a tough challenger in the form of Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo. The Australian would eventually cross the line sixth.

Seventh went to Force India’s other driver, Nico Hulkenberg, while Williams’ Felipe Massa took eighth. In his final race for Lotus, Romain Grosjean managed ninth (the Frenchman joins America’s Haas next season) and rounding out the top ten was Red Bull man Daniil Kvyat. The only non-finisher was Lotus’ Pastor Maldonado. His race ended at the first corner after he was hit by McLaren’s Fernando Alonso, who received a drive-through penalty.

Following the results of the race, Hamilton ended the 2015 Drivers’ Championship with an impressive 381 points. Rosberg came in second with 322 points while Vettel ended up third with 278 points. In the Constructors’ Championship, Mercedes ended with a mammoth 703 points while Ferrari managed 428 points to secure second place and Williams 257 points to take third.

Hit the next page to see the full results of the 2015 Formula One Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Follow Us

Take Us With You!


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Stock photography by izmostock. Read our Cookie Policy.