Subaru Rally Team USA driver David Higgins and co-driver Craig Drew took home their third consecutive Rally America Championship title at the Lake Superior Performance Rally (LSPR) in Michigan.

The race turned into a duel between the Subaru USA team of Higgins and Drew, and the Hoonigan Racing team of Ken Block and Alex Gelsomino. An overall win would have clinched the title for either team.

The combatants battled for the lead over the first day, with Higgins ending up on top with a 13.4-second lead. The next day, Block rolled his car, handing the race--and the championship--to Higgins.

"The pace Block and I were both going made it entirely possible to happen to any one of us," Higgins said. "It was the fastest that we have ever gone."

The title is Higgins' third consecutive and fourth overall.

Last year, Higgins clinched the championship at the New England Forest Rally, finishing second overall in the event.

He did the exact same thing at the 2011 New England Forest Rally, finishing second in the event but taking the championship.

The 2013 LSPR was a good day for Subaru as well. The Japanese car maker clinched the Overall and Super Production Manufacturer's Championship titles, and all three cars on the podium were Subaru WRX STIs.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+