2012 Dubai 24 Hours finish - Image courtesy of 24H Series Live

2012 Dubai 24 Hours finish - Image courtesy of 24H Series Live

Teams running the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 took out the top three positions at the seventh running of the Dubai 24 Hours endurance race this past weekend.

Scoring first place on the podium was German team Abu Dhabi by Black Falcon, represented by drivers Khaled Al Qubaisi, Sean Edwards, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Thomas Jäger.

They managed to complete 628 laps of the 3.35-mile long Dubai Autodrome to establish a new record distance for the event.

Fellow German team Heico Motorsport took out the second and third spots on the podium, with Bernd Schneider, Maximilian Buhk, Christiaan Frankenhout, Max Nilsson and Andreas Zuber finishing second and Bernd Schneider, Kenneth Heyer, Andreas Simonsen and Rodolfo Gonzalez finishing third in the team’s sister SLS AMG GT3.

Victory in the 997 class, meanwhile, went to the Carworld Motorsport-Porsche, driven by Steve Matthyssen, Philippe Richard, Roger Grouwels and Robert Nearn. And SP2 honors went to the Las Moras Racing Team with Luc Braams, Ronald Morien, Duncan Huisman and Michael Munemann driving the Renault Megane Trophy to victory.

Interestingly, the all-gamer Nissan 370Z also took a podium finish, taking third place in the SP2 class thanks to the efforts of GT Academy drivers Jann Mardenborough, Bryan Heitkotter, Lucas Ordonez and Jordan Tresson.

For the rest of our coverage on the 2012 Dubai 24 Hours endurance race, click here.