It may only be June but preparations for the 2016 North American Car and Truck of the Year awards are already well underway. This week the final list of nominees was confirmed. There are 19 vehicles in the Car category and 21 for the Truck category.

In the coming months, the judges will prune the list down to a ten-vehicle shortlist for each category, and then in December they’ll test each of these shortlisted vehicles back-to-back. Three finalists will be determined for each category, and from these the two winning vehicles will be picked. The winners will be announced at the 2016 Detroit Auto Show in January. Last year’s winners were the Volkswagen Golf and Ford F-150.

ALSO SEE: 2017 Audi A4 Is Lighter, More Powerful And More Advanced: Video

To be eligible, a vehicle must be all-new or substantially changed. It must also be available for sale in the U.S. and Canada shortly after the Detroit Auto Show awards ceremony. A minimum number of expected sales is also assumed, thus ruling out vehicles from more exotic marques.

The nominees for the 2016 awards are listed below:

Car Truck
Acura ILX Fiat 500X
Audi TT Ford Edge
BMW 7-Series Honda HR-V
Cadillac ATS-V Honda Pilot
Cadillac CT6 Hyundai Tucson
Chevrolet Camaro Infiniti QX50
Chevrolet Malibu Jeep Renegade

Chevrolet Spark

Chevrolet Volt

Kia Sorento
Chrysler 300 Land Rover Discovery Sport
Ford Mustang Shelby GT350 Lexus RX
Honda Civic Lincoln MKX
Jaguar XF Mazda CX-3
Kia Optima Mercedes-Benz GLC

Mazda MX-5 Miata

MINI Clubman

Mercedes-Benz GLE
Nissan Altima Mercedes-Benz Metris
Nissan Maxima Mitsubishi Outlander
Scion iA Nissan Titan

Scion iM

Smart Fortwo

Ram ProMaster City
Toyota Prius Tesla Model X
  Toyota Tacoma
  Volvo XC90

For more from the Detroit Auto Show, head to our dedicated hub.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google +.