After a 23-year hiatus, the Formula One World Championship made its return to Mexico this past weekend and the event went off without a hitch. Mercedes AMG once again proved unstoppable, with this time Nico Rosberg winning ahead of teammate and newly crowned world champion Lewis Hamilton. Rosberg drove flawlessly from pole to finish, though Hamilton continued to push his teammate throughout the race and ended up just 1.9 seconds adrift after 71 laps at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. This was the 10th one-two finish for Mercedes this season.

ALSO SEE: 2016 Hennessey Venom GT Gets 1,451 Horsepower, Debuts At SEMA

Behind the Mercedes drivers, there was a good challenge between Williams and Infinti Red Bull Racing. Williams driver Valtteri Bottas ended up finishing third, 14.5 seconds behind the leader. A late safety car due to a crash by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel allowed Bottas to pit for new tires and he took the opportunity to overtake Red Bull’s Daniil Kvyat at the restart for the final podium spot. The gap between Bottas and Kvyat at the end was just 2.0 seconds. Red Bull’s other driver Daniel Ricciardo finished fifth and ahead of Williams’ other driver Felipe Massa in sixth. The gap between them was also about 2.0 seconds, making it a very tight race.

It was a disastrous day for Ferrari, which failed to get one its cars among the classified finishers for the first time since the 2006 Australian Grand Prix. Vettel suffered trouble from the start of the race. He and Ricciardo came into contact at Turn 1, with Vettel ending up with a puncture and thus needing to pit. On lap 17 he suffered a spin and then towards the end of the race he crashed out at Turn 7. Teammate Kimi Räikkönen retired on lap 22 after a crash with Bottas.

Mercedes AMG’s Lewis Hamilton takes part in an exhibition wrestling match prior to the Mexican GP

Mercedes AMG’s Lewis Hamilton takes part in an exhibition wrestling match prior to the Mexican GP

Seventh place went to Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg who finished ahead of his teammate and local hero Sergio Perez. Ninth place went to Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen while Lotus’ Romain Grosjean rounded out the top ten.

It was another embarrassing day for McLaren, with Jenson Button down on power throughout the race and Fernando Alonso forced to retire on lap one due to engine trouble. The only other driver failing to finish was Sauber’s Felipe Nasr, whose car had brake issues.

Hamilton’s tally in the 2015 Drivers’ Championship now extends to 345 points. Rosberg moves back into second with 272 points, while Vettel drops to third with 251 points. In the Constructors’ Championship, Mercedes AMG sits on a massive 617 points while Ferrari is second with 374 points and Williams is third with 243 points. Coming up is the penultimate race on the calendar, the Brazilian Grand Prix, in a fortnight.

Hit the next page to see the full results of the 2015 Formula One Mexican Grand Prix.

Below are the full results for the 2015 Formula One Mexican Grand Prix:

1) Nico Rosberg, Mercedes AMG
2) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes AMG
3) Valtteri Bottas, Williams
4) Daniil Kvyat, Infiniti Red Bull Racing
5) Daniel Ricciardo, Infiniti Red Bull Racing
6) Felipe Massa, Williams
7) Nico Hulkenberg, Force India
8) Sergio Perez, Force India
9) Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso
10) Romain Grosjean, Lotus
11) Pastor Maldonado, Lotus
12) Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
13) Carlos Sainz, Toro Rosso
14) Jenson Button, McLaren
15) Alexander Rossi, Marussia
16) Will Stevens, Marussia
Ret) Felipe Nasr, Sauber
Ret) Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
Ret) Kimi Räikkönen, Ferrari
Ret) Fernando Alonso, McLaren


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook and Twitter.