2016 World Car Of The Year Nominees Announced

Follow Viknesh

2017 Jaguar XE

2017 Jaguar XE

Enlarge Photo

The journey to the 2016 World Car of the Year awards has begun, and once again there will be separate categories for the best car overall as well as for the best cars when it comes to performance, luxury, the environment and design.

DON'T MISS: Watch The Tesla Model X SUV’s ‘Falcon’ Doors In Action: Video

At the recent Frankfurt Auto Show, a list of nominees for the 2016 awards was confirmed. To be eligible, the cars must be new and available for sale on at least two continents during the time period between January 1, 2015 and May 31, 2016.

Jurors taking part will now spend the following months testing the cars before the list of nominees is whittled down to a handful of finalists. Top three finalists will be announced at next year’s Geneva Motor Show before the winners are named at next year’s New York Auto Show.

CHECK OUT: Cramming A $4.5MM Lamborghini Veneno Into A Transport Truck: Video

Last year’s winners included the Mercedes-Benz C-Class (world), Mercedes S-Class (luxury), Mercedes-AMG GT (performance), BMW i8 (green) and Citroën C4 Cactus (design).

Below are the nominees for the 2016 World Car of the Year:

Audi A4
Cadillac CT6
Chevrolet Malibu
Ford Edge
Honda HR-V
Hyundai Creta
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar XE
Kia Optima
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Mazda CX-3
Mazda MX-5
Mercedes-Benz GLC
Nissan Maxima
Opel Astra
Skoda Superb
SSangYong Tivoli
Subaru Levorg
Subaru Outback
Toyota Prius
Volkswagen Touran

Hit the next page to see the nominees for the other categories.

Follow Us

Take Us With You!


© 2017 MotorAuthority. All Rights Reserved. MotorAuthority is published by Internet Brands Automotive Group. Stock photography by izmostock. Read our Cookie Policy.