Juan Pablo Montoya was less than a second—0.1046, to be exact—in front of fellow Team Penske driver Will Power crossing the finish line at the Indianapolis 500.

But he was first. 

The victory marks the Columbian driver's second trip to the winner's circle at the historic 2.5-mile speedway, and along with his wins in NASCAR and Formula One, makes him one of the most well-rounded drivers racing today. Montoya's win also marked a historic 16th win for team owner Roger Penske—famous for his "Penske perfect" performances.

Pole-sitter and 2008 winner Scott Dixon led the most laps, but two full-course cautions matched with careful pit strategy allowed Montoya to take the final lead with just four of the race's 200 laps left to go.

Along with the $2.5 prize money and getting to drink the traditional milk, Montoya also set a record for longest time between victories. He previously won in 2000.

ALSO SEE: Nico Rosberg Pulls Surprise Victory At 2015 Formula One Monaco Grand Prix

In 2016, the Indianapolis 500 will celebrate its 100th running.     

Below are the 2015 Indy 500's top ten finishers: 

1. Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske)
2. Will Power (Team Penske) 
3. Charlie Kimball (Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing)
4. Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) 
5. Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
6. Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
7. Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
8. JR Hildebrand (CFH Racing) 
9. Josef Newgarden (CFH Racing) 
10. Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske)


Follow Motor Authority on FacebookTwitter and YouTube.