Three decades ago at Silverstone, Renault joined the Formula One league with a new turbocharged racer and a team comprised of a small band of inexperienced enthusiasts. The same day also saw a young Gilles Villeneuve compete in F1 for the first time with home favorite James Hunt win after starting in pole, but sadly Renault failed to finish.

Racing for the French team was Jean-Pierre Jabouille in the RS01, the first car to feature a turbocharged engine. Before long, the turbo craze caught on and most other teams soon started copying the innovative Renault design.

Since the 1977 debut, Renault has competed in 25 seasons of F1 and has won eight constructors’ championships and seven drivers’ titles in total. The Renault team has also enjoyed 113 wins and 154 pole positions despite the rocky start all those years ago.

To coincide with its 30th anniversary in F1, Renault has displayed its current R27 racer wearing the original RS01’s black and yellow livery.