The Race of Champions has been thrilling motorsports fans for decades.

The first ROC event was in 1988 and it was held in Paris with a lineup of drivers that would make your eyes bulge from your head. The winner that year was Juha Kankkunen and he earned the very first Champion of Champions title. Now the race is bound to make its first ever stop on American soil as it's set to get underway in Miami, Florida in 2017.

The stage is going to be set at Marlins Park and the battle unfolds January 21-22. Tony Kanaan, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Juan Pablo Montoya, Travis Pastrana, Kurt Busch, and Felipe Massa have all been announced as competitors for the race. They'll do battle against Petter Solberg, Tom Kirstensen, and Sebastian Vettel, and there are still more drivers yet to be announced.

This is pure racing in a heads-up format. The cars are equal so it comes down to pure driving talent to take home the top spot. Vehicles used include the Ariel Atom Cup, Radical SR3, the Mercedes-AMG GT S, Super Stadium Trucks, and a specially-prepped ROC Car. On day one of racing, the competitors all battle it out against each other. Day two, however, turns drivers from the same nations into teammates as they compete to be the fastest nation at the ROC event.

It's going to be awesome, and for the first time ever, it's going to be here.