UPDATE: Nico Rosberg's qualifying result has been cleared by stewards and he will start at pole.

Last year’s winner Nico Rosberg of Mercedes AMG will start at pole position tomorrow in the 2014 Formula One Monaco Grand Prix, after setting the fastest time during today’s qualifying session. However, there’s some controversy concerning Rosberg’s result, with stewards investigating whether an error he caused on his final run, which saw the yellow flags come out, cost the other drivers a chance to beat his time.

Rosberg’s fastest time was 1:15.989. The next fastest driver was fellow Mercedes AMG driver Lewis Hamilton who set a 1:16.048. Then it was the Red Bulls of Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel in third and fourth spots, with the Ferraris of Fernando Alonso and Kimi Räikkönen in fifth and sixth spots.

Seventh fastest of the day was Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne, with Kevin Magnussen of McLaren eighth fastest, Daniil Kvyat of Toro Rosso ninth fastest, and Force India’s Sergio Perez rounding out the top ten. Both Kvyat and Perez are also under investigation for possible impeding offences.

As always in Monaco, qualifying is critical, so it will be interesting to see if Rosberg ends up  being penalized and Hamilton moved to pole. Going into tomorrow’s race, Hamilton leads the Drivers’ Championship with 100 points versus the 97 of Rosberg and the 49 of Alonso. In the Constructors’ Championship, Mercedes AMG leads with 197 points followed by Red Bull Racing on 84 and Ferrari on 66.


Follow Motor Authority on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.