The ninth International Engine of the Year Awards winners have just been announced, and it’s a big victory for BMW yet again. The 3.0L straight-six twin-turbo engine from the 335i has won the title, with three other engines in the line-up also winning in their respective categories. One point to note is that the 335i engine is underrated when it leaves the factory. While official figures claim it develops ‘only’ 302hp, models that have been dyno’d regularly pump out more than 350hp.

Porsche’s legendary 3.6L 6-cylinder engine won for the 3.0-4.0L category but failed to topple the mighty 5.0L V10 from BMW in the best performance engine category. Toyota's technical leadership in hybrid technology won it another award for the Hybrid Synergy Drive system.

BMW has been on somewhat of a winning streak lately and shows no sign of stopping when it comes to building the best engines in the world. The upcoming 204hp/400Nm 4-cylinder diesel is likely to feature in next year's awards.

The main winners are:

Best engine

BMW 3.0L Twin-turbo (335i)

Best performance engine

BMW 5.0L V10 (M5, M6)

Best fuel economy/alternative

Toyota 1.5L Hybrid Synergy drive (Prius)

Click ahead to see the engines that won in the other categories.

Toyota 1.0L (Aygo, Yaris, Peugeot 107, Citroën C1)

1.0 – 1.4L

Volkswagen 1.4L TSI (Golf, Touran, Jetta)

1.4 – 1.8L

BMW-PSA 1.6LTurbo (MINI, Peugeot 207)

1.8 – 2.0L

Volkswagen 2.0L Turbo (Golf, Audi A3, A6, SEAT Leon, Skoda Octavia)

2.0 – 2.5L

BMW 2.5L (325, 525, X3, Z4)

2.5 – 3.0L

BMW 3L Twin-Turbo (335i)

3.0 – 4.0L

Porsche 3.6L Turbo (911 Turbo)

More than 4.0L

BMW 5.0L V10 (M5, M6)