2007 world champion Kimi Raikkonen has been nominated for the prestigious Laureus World Sportsman of the Year title. Alongside fellow nominees including Roger Federer (tennis), Kaka (football) and Tiger Woods (golf), the Finn was selected following a ballot by the world's media.

Lewis Hamilton, meanwhile, has been nominated for the Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award, while Ferrari is in contention for the Laureus World Team of the Year.

The winners, to be unveiled during a ceremony in Russia on February 18, will be selected from a jury of 43 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time. (GMM)