Vettel Qualifies On Pole For Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix

Follow Viknesh

Sebastian Vettel

Sebastian Vettel

Enlarge Photo
Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel demonstrated a brilliant return to form during qualifying today at the 2012 Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix, managing to post the fastest time of the day and set himself up for his first win of the season.

The Red Bull Racing driver’s fastest time for the 3.3-mile Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir was a scorching 1:32.422.

Just a tenth of a second behind him was McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton who posted a fastest time of 1:32.520.

Like Vettel, the young Brit will be eager for his first win of the season and should guarantee plenty of action at the front of the grid in tomorrow’s race.

Vettel’s Red Bull Racing teammate Mark Webber was third fastest, managing a best time of 1:32.637, while McLaren’s other driver, Jenson Button, was fourth fastest on the day with a best time of 1:32.711.

One of the big surprises of the day was Toro Rosso’s Daniel Ricciardo who will start at sixth tomorrow after posting a fastest time of 1:32.912.

Going into tomorrow’s race, Hamilton holds the world championship lead with 45 points to Button's 43. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, Bahrain’s 2010 winner, lies third with 37; McLaren's got the constructor's lead with 88 points to Red Bull's 64, Ferrari's 37, Sauber's 31, Mercedes' 26 and Lotus' 24 points.

Below are the full results from qualifying, and remember to come back for our weather forecast later today and full race results on Monday.

1) Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull Racing 1:32.422
2) Lewis Hamilton - McLaren 1:32.520
3) Mark Webber - Red Bull Racing 1:32.637
4) Jenson Button - McLaren 1:32.711
5) Nico Rosberg - Mercedes 1:32.821
6) Daniel Ricciardo - STR 1:32.912
7) Romain Grosjean - Lotus 1:33.008
8) Sergio Perez - Sauber 1:33.394
9) Fernando Alonso - Ferrari 1:33.403
10) Paul di Resta - Force India 1:33.510
11) Kimi Räikkönen - Lotus 1:33.789
12) Kamui Kobayashi - Sauber 1:33.806
13) Nico Hulkenberg - Force India 1:33.807
14) Felipe Massa - Ferrari 1:33.912
15) Bruno Senna - Williams 1:34.017
16) Heikki Kovalainen - Caterham 1:34.852
17) Pastor Maldonado - Williams 1:34.639
18) Michael Schumacher - Mercedes 1:34.865
19) Jean-Eric Vergne - STR 1:35.014
20 ) Vitaly Petrov - Caterham 1:35.823
21) Charles Pic - Marussia 1:37.683
22) Pedro de la Rosa - HRT 1:37.883
23) Timo Glock - Marussia 1:37.905
24) Narain Karthikeyan - HRT 1:38.314
Follow Us

People Who Read This Article Also Read

Commenting is closed for this article

Take Us With You!


Get FREE Dealer Quotes

From dealers near you

Research New Cars


© 2015 MotorAuthority. All Rights Reserved. MotorAuthority is published by High Gear Media. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Read Our Cookie Policy