Subaru Repeats Its 'Subaru Challenge Award' For 2012

Hayden Paddon shakes down his championship-winning 2011 WRX STI. Image: Paddon Team Green

Hayden Paddon shakes down his championship-winning 2011 WRX STI. Image: Paddon Team Green

Enlarge Photo
The FIA’s Production Car World Rally Championship (PWRC) can often be a stepping stone to bigger and better things in the world of motorsports.

Run under FIA Group N rules, the series pits production cars with few allowed modifications against one another, emphasizing the capabilities of both car and driver.

In 2012, Subaru will again offer the “Subaru Challenge Award” to drivers who run the Subaru Impreza WRX STI in PWRC competition. The award pays contingency money for a podium finish in each of the eight scheduled 2012 PWRC rallies, as well as an additional bonus for a first, second or third finish in championship points at the end of the season.

To be eligible, drivers must be registered with the PWRC for the 2012 season, and must compete in Group N homologated Subaru Impreza WRX STI models that conform to the 2012 regulations. Guest entrants, nominated by race organizers, are also eligible for contingency money.

The Impreza WRX STI has proven extremely competitive in PWRC competition. In addition to claiming the championship for 2011, the WRX STI earned consecutive championships from 2003 through 2007, losing to the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution in 2008, 2009 and 2010.
Follow Us


Have an opinion?

  • Posting indicates you have read this site's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use
  • Notify me when there are more comments

Have an opinion? Join the conversation!


Take Us With You!


Research New Cars


Related Used Listings

Browse used listings in your area.

© 2014 MotorAuthority. All Rights Reserved. MotorAuthority is published by High Gear Media. Stock photography by izmo, Inc. Send us feedback.