With engine competition for the first time since 2005 and with new rules that limit teams to five engines per season, the IZOD IndyCar Series has announced the status of engine use following the ninth of 15 races in the 2012 season.

As the cars roll into Canada for the Honda Indy Toronto this weekend, there are five drivers using their fifth and final engine: Scott Dixon for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, AJ Foyt Enterprises' Mike Conway, Takuma Sato with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports' rookie Simon Pagenaud, all running Honda's single-turbo powerplant. The fifth driver is Simona de Silvestro, the sole remaining twin-turbo Lotus driver in the field, also on her fifth engine.

Once these drivers have exhausted their engine supply, they receive the now customary 10-place penalty for an unapproved engine change.

There are 11 car/driver combinations with a single engine left in rotation: the twin-turbocharged Chevy entries are the three Team Penske cars for Ryan Briscoe, Helio Castroneves and Will Power, KV Racing Technology's Rubens Barrichello and Tony Kanaan and owner/driver Ed Carpenter. Honda's entries are Dario Franchitti of Target Chip Ganassi Racing, Justin Wilson with Dale Coyne Racing, both Graham Rahal and Charlie Kimball at Chip Ganassi Racing and Sarah Fisher Hartman's rookie Josef Newgarden.

There are still eight cars with two engines available for use: Panther Racing (JR Hildebrand), EJ Viso at KV Racing Technology, Dragon Racing for Katherine Legge/Sebastien Bourdais, Dale Coyne Racing's James Jakes (Honda), Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing's Oriol Servia, all three Andretti Autosport teams for Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Hunter-Reay and the Bryan Herta Autosport with Alex Tagliani (Honda). Unless otherwise named, these drivers have Chevrolet power.

The IZOD IndyCar Series features five road/street courses at Toronto, Edmonton, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Sonoma Raceway and Baltimore before the oval finale at Auto Club Speedway in September.