NHRA Forms Nitro Technical Advisory Committee

Glen Gray - Anne Proffit photo

Glen Gray - Anne Proffit photo

Enlarge Photo
The National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) is moving toward inclusion and transparency in its Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, with the formation of its Nitro Technical Advisory Council, chaired by Glen Gray, vice president of technical operations.

The group will provide input on current and future rules, together with tackling other technical matters.

“We believe this group of seasoned and experienced participants in the Top Fuel and Funny Car categories can assist NHRA in both the short and long-term,” Gray explained. “The group understands the intricacies of the fastest accelerating vehicles on the planet and their knowledge could serve to help NHRA in rule making and technical matters that are in the best of interest of the entire sport.”

The Nitro Technical Advisory Council members have hundreds of cumulative years' experience in drag racing, and offer a cross-section of the current professional nitromethane teams.

They include Mike Green, crew chief of Don Schumacher Racing's U.S. Army Top Fuel dragster driven by Tony Schumacher; Alan Johnson, owner of Alan Johnson Racing, Alan Johnson Performance Engineering and team manager for the two-dragster Al-Anabi Racing Team; Mike Neff, driver, tuner, crew chief for his Castrol GTX Ford Mustang John Force Racing Funny Car; Tim Wilkerson, who performs the same duties for the Levi, Ray & Shoup Ford Shelby Mustang Funny Car he owns; and Del Worsham, the reigning (and retired) Top Fuel champion who is now the crew chief for Alexis DeJoria's Tequila Patron Funny Car.

The first meeting of these minds occurs this weekend during the 24th annual Dollar General NHRA Summernationals at Heartland Park Topeka in Kansas.

Posted in:
Follow Us

Commenting is closed for this article

Take Us With You!


© 2017 MotorAuthority. All Rights Reserved. MotorAuthority is published by Internet Brands Automotive Group. Stock photography by izmostock. Read our Cookie Policy.