Porsche Endurance Specialist Hans Herrmann Inducted To Sebring Hall Of Fame

Photo courtesy Porsche

Photo courtesy Porsche

Enlarge Photo
The Sebring Hall of Fame added Hans Herrmann, a Porsche driver of renown to its class of 2012, during a ceremony prior to the 60th anniversary Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway in Florida.

Others in the class include Australian expatriot Geoff Brabham, Americans Denise McCluggage, Johnny O'Connell and Jim Downing.

Herrmann, born in 1928, had a racing career that spanned from 1953 to 1970.

He was twice the overall winner at Sebring; in 1960 he won the legendary 12-hour race in a Porsche 718 RS60 with Olivier Gendebien and repeated the feat in 1968 in a Porsche 908 with Jo Siffert. Hermann won his class for Porsche in 1956 and 1966.

His first overall victory at the 12 Hours of Sebring in 1960 was one of the most important wins in Porsche's racing history. It was the first outing for the new Type 18 RS60 1.6-liter race car and it ended in a double victory for the Stuttgart manufacturer: the Porsche teams of Hermann/Gendebien and Holbert/Schechter crossed the line in front of competitors from the 3-liter classification.

Hans Hermann is one of Porsche's most successful works drivers. The Stuttgart native is regarded as one of the most reliable and consistent endurance specialist drivers of all time.

During his career, Hans Herrmann amassed more than 80 overall wins and class victories for manufacturers including Porsche, Mercedes-Benz, Borgward and Abart. In 1953,1954 and 1955 he was the German champion of the 1500-cc class; he took the manufacturers' World Champion in 1969 and 1970.

Herrmann achieved his greatest victories in cars made in Zuffenhausen at the Mille Miglia, Targa Florio, Carrera Panamericana and at Le Mans, where he earned Porsche's first overall victory in a Porsche 917 during the 1970 24-hour contest. After his triumph at Le Mans, Hans Herrmann retired from active racing at the age of 42.

Follow Us

Commenting is closed for this article

Take Us With You!


© 2017 MotorAuthority. All Rights Reserved. MotorAuthority is published by Internet Brands Automotive Group. Stock photography by izmostock. Read our Cookie Policy.