BMW Motorsport is excited about the three teams and its drivers for the company's assault on the revitalized DTM this year. 

BMW Team Schnitzer has Bruno Spengler and Dirk Werner as its drivers, while Andy Priauix and Augusto Farfus represent BMW Team RBM. 

The reigning DTM champion, who recently joined the BMW family, Martin Tomczyk, joins with American Joey Hand at BMW Team RMG.

"In allocating our six DTM drivers to the three teams, we have completed another stage of our planning for the 2012 season," said Jens Marquardt, BMW Motorsport director. "The test program--so far--has focused on evaluating control parts and performing basic setup work on our BMW M3 DTM, even as we familiar ourselves with the DTM processes, which are new to us all."

He went on to add, "We now enter the crucial phase ahead of the start of the season, in which the focus switches to performance. In order for us to be able to push ourselves to the limit and exploit the full potential of the car, it is essential that the cooperation between the driver, his race engineer and the entire team is perfect. After many discussions with all those involved, we are confident we have found the optimal lineups. The drivers and teams can now continue to grow together and prepare for the season, which begins in just three months."

Marquardt believed that pairing Spengler, a newcomer to the group of BMW works drivers with BMW Team Schnitzer team, which has been in the series since 2005 and competed in 73 DTM races, would help them both. The Schnitzer team, under the guidance of principal Charly Lamm won the DTM title in 1989 with Roerto Ravaglia at the wheel of the BMW M3. Schnitzer has 17 wins in the series.

Dirk Werner, Spengler's new teammate, knows the team well having raced with them at many endurance events since 2010, including the 24-hour races at Le Mans and at the Nurburgring-Nordschleife, the "Green Hell".

The pairing of Priauix and Farfus reunites these drivers who competed successfully in the 2010 World Touring Car Championship for BMW Team RBM principal Bart Mampaey.  Priauix won the 2004 European Touring Car Championship with the team's crew before claiming three back-to-back championships between 2005-2007.

Not only does Tomczyk own the current DTM title, he is the most experienced series driver representing BMW this season. Tomczyk has 112 races to his credit in the series and lines up up for BMW Team RMG with Hand, the reigning titleholder in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) GT Drivers' Championship with BMW Team RLL.

All of the BMW works drivers--less Hand--will take part in the DTM open test at Estoril on February 7-9. Hand will be in Portugal at the same time, but he will be taking part in a separate test for BMW's ALMS program.